Well here we are with my first stash-busting project. How exciting!!! It’s a ladies crochet scarf called “Trellis”

trellis1

I need to make a quick gift  for Tuesday so that hubby can drop the present off for me. My cousin has a birthday on the 30th. June and I’ve bought her a gorgeous handmade brooch by Jenny Pepper who is an amazing and talented fibre artist, whose felt installations are truly unique.  Jenny’s website is here: http://www.jennypepper.com/index.htm

I really bought the brooch for myself, but I’m sure I’ll see Jenny again at Wonderwool next year, where I can buy myself another one.

The Project: To go with the needlefelted brooch I want to crochet a light and airy scarf that can be worn all year round. I browsed my old patterns (I have tons of patterns saved on my computer that have either been published or didn’t make it that far) and I found the perfect solution. A couple of years ago I designed a shrug for Let’s Get Crafting Magazine. It’s basically a strip of crochet with a pretty mesh pattern. I’ve made it a little bit longer and thinner and voila – the perfect summer scarf.  There are only 2 rows to the pattern, so it’s great for working on whilst you watch TV. The pattern can be downloaded at the bottom of this post.

Construction: The scarf is made lengthways and you need to know how to make a crochet chain, double crochet and treble crochet. It’s a simple two-row pattern repeat over 20 rows.

Size: Approximately 145cm long (57 inches) and 14cm wide (5.5 inches)

The Yarn: I had a tidy up of my yarn and I came across this gorgeous Pure Silk yarn by Debbie Bliss. It’s 100% silk and had a beautiful sheen which makes it perfect for spring & summer.

DBpuresilk

The shimmer helps enhance stitch details and adds a hint of sophistication to your projects. It’s great for sweaters, tops, jackets, shrugs, scarves, really any DK-weight project. It comes in a beautiful range of colours and is around £7.50 per skein. Rather expensive I know, but just couple of skeins will make this beautiful scarf. Whilst it’s discontinued, you can still find it on ebay and various online wool stores. My skeins only cost £1 as I bought them at a closing down sale (sadly my local yarn store closed last year). So this scarf only cost me £2 to make, plus about 6-8 hours of my time (if I discount the wasted time on my first two efforts!!!).

Alternatives: If you want to mooch in your stash and find an alternative, I’d recommend a dk weight with a soft drape such as a bamboo blend, a soft cotton or a cotton blend. You could also use sock yarn or Debbie Bliss Baby Cashmerino.

Hook size: 4mm

Tips: When making the long foundation chain, I’d recommend keeping a tally after every 10 ch, using a pen and paper, then if you’re interrupted or lose concentration, you can just check your tally rather than trying to count the chain.

trellis3

I rolled up the scarf, tied it with a length of braided yarn and slipped in the yarn band with the care instructions.

trellis

I’ll let you know if my cousin likes the scarf (fingers crossed)

You can download the file here: Trellis Crochet Scarf

You can add your project to Ravelry here:http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/trellis-17

 xx Happy crafting xx

Leave a Reply

